Eliud Kipchoge Crowned Sports Personality Of The Year

Marathon World Record holder Eliud Kipchoge has been crowned the overall Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year at the 16th edition of the awards held at Mombasa Sports Club.

Kipchoge, who last year became the first person in the world to run 42km in under 2 hours, beat Women’s World 5,000m Champion Hellen Obiri and Paralympian Samuel Mushai to retain the annual award.

In the Sportswoman of the Year category, Hellen Obiri scooped the award after beating marathon world record holder Brigid Kosgei and IAAF Athletics Champion Ruth Chengetich.

“I am pleased to be honored the 2019 Safaricom Sports Personality of the Year. This is the second year in a row that I am being recognized and I can’t take this for granted. Sports is the only way to unite not only the country but the whole world and I urge everyone to love sports and support our sportsmen and women,” said Eliud Kipchoge, 2019 Sports Personality of the Year.

In the other categories, the national women’s volleyball team Malkia Strikers scooped the Women Sports Team of the Year Award with Kenya Lionesses (Rugby) and Harambee Starlets (Football) emerging second and third respectively. In the men's category, KCB RFC trumped Morans (Basketball) and Bandari FC (Football) to win the award.

National women’s volleyball team coach Paul Bitok was crowned the Coach of the Year after beating David Ouma of the Harambee Starlets, Carey Odhiambo of Morans and Curtis Olago of KCB RFC.

This is the 16th year  that Safaricom was the title sponsor of the Sports Personality of the Year Awards (SOYA), which has continued to recognize the outstanding talents of Kenya’s sports personalities.


2019 SOYA Winners


Overall Sports Personality of the Year

Eliud Kipchoge- Athletics


Sportsman of the Year


  1. Eliud Kipchoge (athletics)


  1. Timothy Cheruiyot (Athletics)


  1. Geoffrey Kamworor (Athletics)


Sportswoman of the Year


  1. Hellen Obiri (Athletics)


  1. Brigid Kosgei (athletics)


  1. Ruth Chepngetich (Athletics)


Sports Team of the year (Men)


  1. KCB RFC (Rugby)


  1. Team Morans (Basketball)


  1. Bandari FC (Football)


Sports Team of the year (Women)


  1. Malkia Strikers (Volleyball)


  1. Kenya Lionesses (Rugby)


  1. Harambee Starlets (Football)


Coach of the Year:


  1. Paul Bitok (Volleyball)


Sports Federation of the Year


Kenya Special Olympics (Special Games)


Sportsman of the Year with Disability


  1. Samuel Mushai (Athletics)


  1. Onesmus Mutinda (Athletics)


  1. Vincent Mutai (Athletics)


Sportswoman of the Year with Disability


  1. Catherine Nyaga (Athletics)


  1. Ruth Jemurgor (Shortput)


  1. Nancy Chelangat (athletics)


Most promising Personality of the Year (Girls)


  1. Jentrix Shikangwa (Football)


  1. Belinda Wanjiru (Golf)


  1. Faith Chepkemboi (Athletics)


Most promising Personality of the Year (Boys)


  1. Geoffrey Okwach (Rugby)


  1. Dominic Ndigiti (Athletics)


  1. Daniel Sakari (Football)


School Coach of the Year:


Justin Kigwari, Kwanthanze High School (Volleyball)


School Team of the Year (Boys):


  1. Kakamega High School (Rugby team)


  1. Upper Hill High School (Rugby)


  1. Friends School Kamusinga (Hockey)


School Team of the Year (Girls):


  1. Kwanthanze High School (Volleyball)


  1. Moi Girls Kamusinga (Handball)


  1. St Cecilia Misikhu (Hockey)


Most Outstanding Player (Boys)


  1. Stephen Ndegwa (Swimming)


Most Outstanding Player (Girls)

  1. Mariah Bianchi (Swimming)


Community Hero

 Johanna Omollo (Football)


Hall of Fame Inductees

1st Inductee - Dorcas Ndasaba (Volleyball)

2nd Inductee - Mohamoud Abbass (Football)


Was this information helpful? If not tell us how we can improvesafaricom imagessafaricom images

Manage all your services in one App

Safaricom Neo

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read our Cookie Policy to learn more